The 10 lessons that I have learned in my 19 years of existence/PERSONAL

meeeeeeeeeee

 

I celebrated my 19th birthday last Wednesday (February 8) with my family and friends.

Writing this blog post made me ponder upon my life and I realized that there are still more things that I could’ve compiled on this list.

Here are my top 10 lessons that I had learned over the years either the easy way or the hard way.

I’ am still a work in progress there are times that I see the glass half full or half empty.

 

1.)PEOPLE COME AND GO

Looking back there has been a lot of people who I thought would stay and be a constant part of my life. As I grow older I learned that the people who are currently in my life may one day be no longer a part of it.

Still I’ am thankful for the people who have stayed with me through my highs and lows. To the people who has left or drifted away from me. Thank you for each and every one of you certainly left a mark in me and without you I wouldn’t be who I’ am today.

People may come and go but then what matters is who still remains  in my heart.

2.)THE WORLD CAN BE A CRUEL PLACE

I used to see the world in a rosy lens but then the reality can be a bucket of cold water being poured at me jolting me awake.

I used to believe that achieving my dreams will be a piece of cake.

I also used to believe that everybody have a heart of gold.

As an idealist I like the idea that I can make the world a better place or perhaps the world is not as bad as it seems. There’s still hope and light.

I know there’s still goodness in this world.

3.)CHALLENGES PROMOTES GROWTH

When I was younger I hated challenges to the rotten core since back then I thought that it’s only purpose is to give me a hard time. Over time I learned that challenges or problems are given or presented to us for a reason or a purpose. It tests our limits, strengths or weaknesses. Now that I’ am older challenges doesn’t scares me anymore. I always, always, always endeavor to meet it head on.

4.)ALWAYS BE THE BIGGER PERSON

Trust me being the bigger person has not always been an easy thing to do.

It’s has always been challenging for me to do since I would have to sacrifice my pride, anger or my principles in doing so.There are times that I’ am thoroughly tested in this area. One of my closest friends Rick he would always reminds me to be the bigger person. He opened my eyes to a different perspective and he never ceases in doing so.

He said that just because I laid down my guard doesn’t mean that I lost it means that I won for being the bigger one in this battle.

5.)COMMITMENT IS A MUST

I have always been committed in all the things that I do but then I tend to suffer from commitment issues varying from relationships all kind of relationships or with my passion from time to time.

Still when things gets rough staying and choosing to be devoted to someone or something can be hard yet worthwhile at the same time.

For example writing has always been my passion and when I have writer’s block,

The writing process doesn’t comes easily that’s why I have to practice every day in my journal to stay motivated and creative.

6.)IT’S OKAY TO COMMIT MISTAKES

As a perfectionist making mistakes can wreak havoc in me.

I always have the drive and determination to do what is right.

Even though there are times that things are beyond my control I tend to beat myself up for it. Sometimes when I commit mistakes I become so hard on myself and forget that there’s always room for improvement . I’am still learning to balance this aspect of my personality.

7.)LOVING ONESELF IS ESSENTIAL

I’m always prone to self destruction whenever I’m depressed or my anxiety is consuming me. It took me a long while to cope up with my unhealthy habits.

My mother would always remind me to love myself first and foremost. It’s not out of selfishness but rather it is a necessity.

I should not let my insecurities or flaws destroy me.

8.)BEING SELFLESS ALSO HAVE IT’S LIMITS

There is nothing wrong with being selfless as long as your intentions are pure and coming from the heart. The only wrong thing about being selfless is when you don’t set a boundary and people are already taking advantage of you and you allow it.

All I have to do is remember the cautionary tale that happened many times with my mother although there are times that I find myself in a gray area.

Still I’am learning to be selfless without being taking advantage of.

9.)THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING OPEN MINDED

Over the years I can say that being open minded as an individual does help in his or her growth. It also helps enlightens and makes a person more well rounded.

This is one the most important aspect that every person should have.

It will benefit each and everyone regardless of age, gender ,religion or sex.

10.)LEARNING NEVER STOPS

As cliché as it sounds learning doesn’t stop at the four corners of the classroom.

Travel the world, read books, talk to people, go to different places.

Experiences are also the best teacher in life.

This is also one of the most important lesson that I have learned over the years.

I want to satisfy my hunger for knowledge and my curiosity.

So here are the 10 ten things that I have learned over the years and I do hope that now that I have turned 19 .

Things will change and everything will be okay.

I have a lot of things that I want to change and work on myself and also to different aspects of my life.

 

What is the most important lesson that you have learned in life?

I would love to hear from you!

 

XOXO THE SIREN.

Published by: sirenmusings0208

Nicole is a junior in college studying Communication arts. Her passions are highly on the creative side. She loves to write, read, make videos,make DIY crafts ,watch movies or tv series. She have a strong knack for travelling impulsively and dancing crazily to Beyonce at the middle of the night when everyone is sleeping. Her blog SIREN MUSINGS is entirely dedicated to her thoughts, passions and everything in between. Twitter: @JUSTNICOLEVLOGS YT channel: JUSTNICOLEVLOGS Instagram: Thegirlwhovlogs.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

